qatarkillo.blogg.se

Wd my passport ultra 4tb review
Wd my passport ultra 4tb review









wd my passport ultra 4tb review wd my passport ultra 4tb review
  1. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review for mac#
  2. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review .exe#
  3. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review portable#
  4. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review software#
  5. #Wd my passport ultra 4tb review password#

USB 3.0- Moving 2.09GB to HDD from 3.0 drive. USB 3.0- Moving a 8.24GB Video file from PC's HDD (WD Caviar Black) onto drive. Below are some subjective benchmarks I observed and documented using real-usage scenarios, as well as ATTO Disk and CrystalDiskMark. If you’re looking for some included apps to make your life a little easier for security or backup reasons, the Ultra is a good choice. Overall Review: * Overall, the WD My Passport Ultra is a well-performing, bells and whistles external hard drive. What WD did here with the included apps is more a matter of convenience than an intuitive stroke of genius. To be honest, there are plenty of programs out there, including free ones, that will accomplish the same tasks as the WD programs bundled with this drive. It would be nice if the WD Backup provided some more information when maximized rather than just an icon. The only information on the status of your running backup that’s available is to right-click on the toolbar icon. The WD Backup App will run in the background and you can maximize it if you want, but doing this doesn’t provide much information.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review portable#

The cable will be fine for use with laptops and portable situations, but placement of the drive will be more limited in a desktop scenario. It’s not terribly short, and since External Hard Drives are meant to be portable, it’s hard to find a good balance when it comes to cable length. The included USB 3.0 cable is short, 18” long. I’ve included some benchmarks in Other Thoughts for reference.Ĭons: - This is a common shortcoming concerning portable external hard drives and even WD–quite literally–fell short. By slightly faster I mean anywhere from one MB to 10MB/s. It isn’t a significant difference, but the Ultra is slightly faster than other USB 3.0 External HDDs I’ve tested. The Read and Write speeds are decent enough and very close to each other.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review password#

The WD Security app allows you to assign a password that must be entered to access the drive. To illustrate the program’s flexibility, I currently have it backing up my RAID Game SSD drives and my main Boot SSD every other day at 6:00PM. The backup will run in the background unobtrusively and automatically per your settings (see Cons). Most importantly, here you can select the source disk(s) you want to backup continually and schedule Daily (specific days of the month), Hourly or Monthly backups. The Backup App includes a Dropbox backup as well, which is somewhat redundant since Dropbox can do the same thing within its own program. To use a tiresome (and inane) cliché, the meat and potatoes of the Ultra is the WD Backup Program and WD Security it is bundled with. A Secure Drive Erase is also included in the Utilities to reformat and start fresh easily. Another handy feature is a Sleep Timer to set a certain time after which passes the Ultra would sleep–as opposed to running 24/7, diminishing its life. You can also scan for bad sectors on the Ultra, much like the Error-Checking in My Computer. From here you can check if SMART is enabled and running properly. The WD Drive Utility program has a few tests you can run to ensure the Ultra’s health status. I’ll outline the three programs’ cool options in the following paragraphs.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review software#

Once installed, there are a few software updates to follow. Of course, if you want to simply use the drive as a storage drive with no frills, you can do that, but I recommend buying a different Hard Drive then, for the Ultra shines because of its extra features.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review .exe#

EXE WD Apps Setup will install WD Backup, WD Security, WD Drive Utilities and WD Quick View these free programs lead to all the extended features that the Ultra touts.

#Wd my passport ultra 4tb review for mac#

Included on the drive (usable 1.82TB) are a couple folders, a user manual and a few programs for mac and Windows. While running, the drive is practically inaudible, only heard when you press your ear against it. It’s understated but can be noticed without any annoyance. There’s a single LED indicator light on the side near the port. On the bottom are rubber grommets that hold the drive in place. The top has a glossy finish and looks more purple than blue, especially in the light. Though I usually prefer Black, the WD My Passport Ultra “Blue” edition is appealing. When buying one of their products, you can usually be assured of their quality. Pros: * I’ll admit I had slight bias coming into this review as Western Digital is my favorite storage manufacturer.











Wd my passport ultra 4tb review